“”Coming to America” – a shocking reality to a naturalized citizen” or GMO deception

I do not even know where to begin. Emotions are overflowing. Emotions of disbelieve, shock, betrayal, guilt…

What happened? I simply watched a movie – Genetic Roulette and it blew my mind. In a middle of a movie, my husband a strongest, toughest man I know, called out youngest daughter over, set her on his lap and gave her a big, loving, protective hug… the movie touched him. How can he protect his family, his girls?

Konstantin and I came here in 1991 when GMO  (genetically modified organism) trend was just picking up speed and to think that with all the evidence of how incredibly harmful and dangerous it is, GMO is still an issue and we do not even require product labeling, this  is criminal. From LableGMOs.org: “Much of the World Already Requires Labeling of Genetically Engineered Foods. 50 countries with over 40% of the world’s population already label genetically engineered foods, including the entire European Union. Even China labels genetically engineered foods.”

This country a dream for so many became our reality. While leaving our families behind in Russia my Konstantin and I chose to come here, we chose to become citizens, we chose to have our children be born here in absence of their extended families, all out of deep believe and reverence for American Dream, Democracy, Freedom of Speech. We knew in our hearts that our new Government will take care of us and Oh how happy, proud and anxious we were to Vote for the first time as American Citizens. We truly felt we can make a difference.

When questioned by our parents, siblings, friends back in Russia why we do not want to go back to Russia the simple answer, the truth was that we felt safe in US! We trusted in our government, in our system, in freedom of speech, in integrity of our media. We knew that US government will not let us down, will take care of its citizens, will not lie to us, will always place interests of its people first…

How could we be so wrong?! I won’t blame anyone, things develop as they are and it is a natural course of life, good or bad, it is as it is. I only know that I do Love this country that has given me so much, I believe in power of its people and I can only do what is in my power to make an impact on how things are.

I will not repeat or even summarize the movie, those who should watch it will watch it, I just felt this urgent need to sit down and put my feeling on paper.

What can I do? Well, I know it is elementary and yet I do not think many people see the simple truth of the fact that you can not give what you yourself do not have. You can not give money if you have none, you can not give knowledge if you do not have it, you can not nurture if you yourself is not nourished,  you can not truly love anyone before you learn to love yourself.

“A genuine change must first come from within the individual, only then can he or she attempt to make a significant contribution to humanity.”  Dalai Lama

So what I feel I can do is to be a better citizen, to take my passion for healthy living and nutrition and learn more, help others to understand and become educated consumers. Help kids eat better, make smarter choices, help those hurting physically or emotionally find their way to healthier, more balanced lives…

I am ever so grateful to my husband Konstantin for giving me his love and support in my decision to go to school and to learn more, to continue learning, and to follow my passion of over 20 years.  That will be my contribution,  my changing from within by becoming a conscious human being, taking care of my soul and of my body, living with awareness, cultivating peace, balance and happiness within myself and helping others do the same.

For more information please watch the movie or visit Non-GMO Project website.

To your health!

Elena

2 thoughts on ““”Coming to America” – a shocking reality to a naturalized citizen” or GMO deception

  1. Hi Elena!
    Regretfully, there is no freedom or democracy here anymore; the corporate oligarchy controls the economy and our politicians. But there are things we can do. You will see some on my blog. More here: http://thrivemovement.com/
    And you are right, change must come from within, from the individual, which means we can’t turn a blind eye. We must be aware of what is occurring and accept our own responsibility in the matter. Check this also: http://AE911TRUTH.ORG/

Leave a Reply

