Extended breastfeeding

Last week when my baby was 1 year 8 months and 17 days, I stopped breastfeeding her. This time around I nursed well over a year,  my first daughter I nursed for 10 months and she stopped on her own. Back then I was working full time (I went back to work when she was 2 months old), pumping daily at work, nursing in the morning and at night. I desperately tried to maintain my milk supply, but being away at work most of the time did not help. Slowly but surely my milk was drying up and at some point my daughter just refused to take the breast. She was also a big baby, so I guess she just was not getting enough milk after all the hard work she did.

Now my second baby is a different story. I am home with her and I was hoping to breastfeed till she is 1.  So I am very happy to say that I did much better than that. When she turned one, my plan was just to go with the flow and see how we do. I was enjoying it, no more leaking (I guess breasts just get used to controlling milk flow), no need for nursing  pads. If we had an event to go to and my outfit required me not too, I did not have to wear a bra and it felt wonderful. I do not get very big in my chest while breastfeeding, only about 1 size larger, so not having to wear a bra all the time felt good.

While I think it is an amazing experience to nurse a toddler, there are some things that I wish I knew and was better prepared for.

So I will share few posts about my experience with extended breastfeeding.

You can find my other posts on the subject here.

Leave a Reply

