Thich Nhat Hanh on mindfulness

This is a great article on Oprah.com. Oprah interviews  Thich Nhat Hanh, a Buddhist monk, who’s teachings in my opinion are of the same essence as teachings of Eckhart Tolle. This is quite a large article and for my own easy reference I wanted to post here only some portions of it that especially resonate with me at this time. Here is a link to the whole article Oprah Talks to Thich Nhat Hanh.

I have noticed that when speaking of practicing mindfulness, being present and living in the now, the most common question that people ask, is whether one looses ability and desire to plan, to achieve. And when does one do it, if one should stay in the present – how do you plan for the future?

Oprah: Okay. We’ve been talking about mindfulness, and you’ve mentioned mindful walking. How does that work?

Nhat Hanh: As you walk, you touch the ground mindfully, and every step can bring you solidity and joy and freedom. Freedom from your regret concerning the past, and freedom from your fear about the future.

Oprah: Most people when they’re walking are thinking about where they have to go and what they have to do. But you would say that removes us from happiness.

Nhat Hanh: People sacrifice the present for the future. But life is available only in the present. That is why we should walk in such a way that every step can bring us to the here and the now.

Oprah: What if my bills need to be paid? I’m walking, but I’m thinking about the bills.

Nhat Hanh: There is a time for everything. There is a time when I sit down, I concentrate myself on the problem of my bills, but I would not worry before that. One thing at a time. We practice mindful walking in order to heal ourselves, because walking like that really relieves our worries, the pressure, the tension in our body and in our mind.

One thought on “Thich Nhat Hanh on mindfulness

  1. Thank you Elena, for leading me to these comments from Thich Nhat Hanh. They brought me back to myself this morning and I needed to return.

Leave a Reply

