A great article in USA TODAY on Eckhart Tolle prompts me to remember how it all started for me…

‘Life’s Purpose’ author Eckhart Tolle is serene, critics less so – This great article on Tolle’s teachings was a wonderful reminder of why Tolle’s book has had such an impact on me and my family.
I was raised Orthodox Christian and I still consider myself Christian, although I do not believe that labeling has any meaning where Spirituality is concerned. Thich Nhat Hanh in his book Living Buddha, Living Christ said “We human beings can be nourished by the best values of many traditions” when he spoke of religion and I wholeheartedly agree.
Before I picked up Tolle’s “A NEW EARTH: AWAKENING TO YOUR LIFE’S PURPOSE” book, I read many books on religion and spirituality, on visualization, positive thinking, manifestation. At one time a friend told us about “What the bleep do we know” so we watched it.  That lead us to “The Secret”, John Assaraf. Finally a great friend of mine mentioned Tolle, I dismissed it until I heard his name in connection with Oprah. I was never a big TV fan, but I thought I should see what it was all about to get Oprah’s attention. That was right when Oprah started that web seminar with Tolle in 2008. I tuned in, I listened, then I got the book and it was all making sense to me.
Tolle’s message was simple yet powerful, and it completely resonated with what I felt to be right, and with my viewpoint of religion/spirituality.While Tolle’s teachings, his advise was simple, for me it was not easy to follow. But I did my best and as often, and as much as I could remember, I would try to go back into Now, to be Present. Little by little it became easier, and the best part was that I could see effect of this “is-ness” ( of being in the now, being present) almost instantly.  And it completely changed my life.

When I came across this article, it served as a wonderful reminder of why and how this beautiful journey started for me. I especially like this summary by the author Cathy Lynn Grossman:

Key points from Tolle’s writing, videos and lectures:

Take responsibility for your inner state. “Emotions and even thoughts become depersonalized through awareness,” and no longer form your basic identity.

To find abundance, give it away. “Whatever you think people are withholding from you praise, appreciation, assistance, loving care and so on give it to them. Soon after you start giving, you will start receiving.”

See, hear and appreciate. “The joy of being is found in the simple, seemingly unremarkable things. Say or think ‘I am’ and add nothing to it.”

Notice your breathing. “Whenever you are conscious of the breath, you are absolutely present. Conscious breathing stops your mind.”

Don’t react, accept. “Acceptance looks like a passive state, but in reality it brings something entirely new into this world. That peace, a subtle energy vibration, is consciousness.”

The “awakened consciousness” rising “within you at this moment,” Tolle concludes, is the new heaven for a new earth.

–By Cathy Lynn Grossman

2 thoughts on “A great article in USA TODAY on Eckhart Tolle prompts me to remember how it all started for me…

  1. I am so struck by this familiar storyline! If you change the statement, “I was raised an Orthodox Christian”, it is mine!
    ‘What the Bleep”, spirituality books, The Secret followed by Oprah and Eckhart. Which all led me to the Science of Mind – Religious Science study. I never cease to be amazed by the serendipty of it all. I am now studying “A Course in Miracles”, and have read all Neale Donald Walsch’s “Conversations with God”. It can’t be random that so many people have been led toward the Truth in this way. Many others that I’ve run across tell me the same things. Thanks for posting this.

    1. Hello Arlene,
      Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I absolutely agree with you. I think that partially due to media, many people found themselves on a similar Spiritual path. More ways of discovering the Truth have became available and accessible to general population, ways that also appeal to someone like me, who never believed that going to church on Sunday is the only way to know God.
      I love your blog. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

